The day of my birth

I folded clothes till midnight

and shacked up with the moon,

I shook my rattle at everyness

and made my maker quake.

I stayed up till dawn

and drank my whiskey dry,

singing songs to whales,

lost at sea.

I mattered to myself then

in the hemispheres of sky,

mattered like land

to sliding water;

landed soul in hand,

scattering me across the ground

like seed,

bowing to air

with each gravitational blur.

 

Awakening can only be described as looking deeply into the mirror.

© Andrea Mathews, 2014

Full moon over Catalina AZ

Leave a Reply

